BUCKS COUNTY TAX COLLECTION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES January 26th, 2023

Warwick Township 1733 Township Greene Jamison, PA 18929

CALL TO ORDER

Robert Pellegrino, Northampton Township, Chairman convened the meeting of the Bucks County Tax Collection (TCC) at 4:05 PM and led the Committee in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

ROLL CALL

Becki Marencik, Warwick Township, Secretary called the membership roll. There was a quorum of 53.08% to conduct the Committee business.

PUBLIC COMMENT (None)

REORGANIZATION

Mr. Pellegrino noted that the Committee needed to reorganize, and that the Nominations Committee recommended the following slate of Officers for 2023:

Officers

Chair – Robert Pellegrino, Northampton Township Vice Chair – Stephanie Teoli Kuhls, Middletown Township Secretary – Becki Marencik, Warwick Township Treasurer – Eileen Bradley, Sellersville Borough

Management Committee

Chester Pogonowski, Wrightstown Township Stephanie Mason, Doylestown Township Caroline Brinker, Doylestown Borough Angela Benner, Plumstead Township John Ramey, Warminster Township

Nominations Committee

Barry Luber, Warrington Township Stephanie Mason, Doylestown Township Jill Pistory, Buckingham Township

Tax Appeals Board

Thomas E. Stinnett, Riegelsville Borough
Lorraine Leslie, Hilltown Township
Jason Harris, Council Rock School District
Patricia Roeder, Milford Township (Alternate)
Barry Luber, Warrington Township (Alternate)

Open Records Officer

Becki Marencik, Warwick Township

Solicitor

Geoffrey L. Beauchamp, Esq., DVMMA

Auditor

Bee Bergvall & Co.

Depository

Penn Community Bank

Insurance Broker

PennPRIME

Caroline Brinker, Doylestown Borough, made a motion to appoint the entire slate of Officers as presented with exception of Jason Harris, Council Rock School District, who is no longer with the district. John Ramey, Warminster Township, seconded the motion. On vote, the motion carried unanimously.

Caroline Brinker, Doylestown Borough, nominated Mega Bhandary, Middletown Township, as Tax Appeals Board Member. John Ramey, Warminster Township, seconded the motion. On vote, the motion carried unanimously.

John Ramey, Warminster Township, made a motion to accept the 2023 meeting dates of April 27, August 30, and November 28, 2023. Jill Pistory, Buckingham Township, seconded the motion. On vote, the motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Darrell Card, Chalfont Borough, and seconded by Caroline Brinker, Doylestown Borough, to approve the minutes from December 1, 2022. On vote, the motion carried unanimously.

TREASURER REPORT

Ms. Bradley reviewed the Treasurer's report noting the fund balance is currently \$40,726 with the insurance paid for the year.

A motion was made by Darrell Card, Chalfont Borough, and seconded by Caroline Brinker, Doylestown Borough to approve bills in the Treasurer's Report. On vote, the motion carried unanimously.

SOLICITOR'S REPORT (None)

OLD BUSINESS

Falls Township and Langhorne Borough have both instituted EIT for 2023.

NEW BUSINESS

Joe Lazzaro, Esq. of Keystone Collections Group presented his report and stated that the tax generation was up 7.6% in 2022 over 2021. In 2022, \$252,694,246 was collected by Keystone for Bucks County which was an increase of \$17.663 million.

The EIT collection has been going well with systems in place to standardize with simpler tax filing operations. Keystone has six attorneys on staff to assist in collecting the delinquents. An additional \$13.8 million was collected in addition to the normal EIT in 2022. All the delinquents are received by entities without collection fees incurred.

A discussion occurred concerning the contract extension with Keystone Collections Group for EIT and LST. The extension does not include any increased collection fees. The current EIT is 1.34% and LST is 1.75%. Darrell Card, Chalfont Borough, made a motion to extend the Keystone Collections contract with the current fees. The motion was seconded by Chet Pogonowski, Wrightstown Township. With no further comments, the motion passed and the contract has been extended with no fee increase.

PUBLIC COMMENT (None)

There being no further business, Chairman Pellegrino adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:32 p.m.

The next meeting of the Committee will be on Thursday, April 27th at 4pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Becki Marencik, Secretary